Darth Plagueis

I picked up a Tion Medon and thought that I could make a convincing Darth Plagueis from him. His head is ridged and needed to be smoothed out and also had to lower his mouth and sculpt a new nose from green stuff to give him a more Muun look.

Once the green stuff had dried I began painting his clothing in various shades of black. When it came to his skin I went with a pasty white/grey color scheme and set his eyes in a black and worked my way forward to a dark grey…almost giving his eye sockets a burnt look. His eyes were done the same as my other Sith…red rimmed iris with a yellow center. I also added armored bits to his robes…seemed more befitting of a Sith Lord to have some metal on his person. I also painted a Sith symbol onto the lower portion of his cloak.

I then added a custom built red lightsaber (created using a dual bladed saber and a tiny plastic skull, then painted it in bronze and weathered it) and of course a Sith Robe to complete the look.

Darth Plagueis


12 Responses to “Darth Plagueis”

  1. Hey it is excelent!. Let me ask you, how do you do the blade of the lightsaber?

    • I’m really glad you like him!
      His lightsaber is the double bladed one from the Episode I Sith accessory pack that I cut in half, then added a small resin skull (28-30mm scale) to the base of the hilt…repainted it and there you have it! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. How did you fashion the robe? I am currently customizing my own Darth Plagueis and want EXACTLY what you have done for yours. Thank you!

    • Hi Kevin! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I used the Sith Robe from the Episode I Sith Accessory Set from 1999…no modifications to it.

      Here is a link to the set sold on Amazon…http://www.amazon.com/Star-Wars-Episode-Sith-Accessory/dp/B00000J2BM

      • Fantastic! Thank you so much! And forgive me for forgetting to tell you this in my first post… Well done! I initially was going to try and get my hands on a San Hill figure ( use just the head) and attach it to Tion Medon’s body, but the way the figures are made, it wouldn’t work easily. Therefore, I’m pretty much just copying you! Thanks for the template and, again, very awesome job!

  3. Thank you Kevin and I’d love to see your work! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Will do. It’s going to take me a while, seeing as though I have no idea where to find everything I need (although I assume that any craft store will do). Even though I have customized my figures in the past, this will be my first attempt to actually paint a figure. Any tips or suggestions?

    • I personally use Games Workshop paints and primers, Testors Dulcote to seal and any brand of two part blue/yellow putty for sculpting will do.
      The GW paint is more durable than standard craft store acrylic paint…bit more expensive but will stay on your figure much better than that cheap craft stuff. Make sure to prime the figure…this will give your paint the best surface to stick to and will keep it from chipping off easily.

  5. Sounds good mate…looking forward! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Well, it’s official, botwt. I am using San Hill’s head on Tion Medon’s body, with the smaller hands of an ROTS Obi-wan figure. I recently primed the skin parts of my figure and am ready to paint.

    Did a bit of research about Darth Plagueis’ appearance; here’s what I came up with:

    “Twenty years had added a slight stoop to the Muunโ€™s posture and veins that stood out under his thinning white skin. He wore a dark green utility suit that hugged his delicate frame, a green cloak that fell from his bony shoulders to the fortโ€™s stone floor, and a headpiece that hewed to his large cranium. A triangular breath mask covered his ruined, prognathus lower jaw, his mouth, part of his long neck, and what remained of the craggy nose heโ€™d had before the surprise attack in the Fobosi. A device of his own invention, the alloy mask featured two vertical slits and a pair of thin, stiff conduits that linked it to a transpirator affixed to his upper chest, beneath an armored torso harness…” (Taken from the novel ‘Darth Plagueis.’)

    I am going to try to stick to this as best as I can. I found it interesting that he wore green. I have always pictured every Sith in black as you have done. I think the end result will be interesting.

Leave a Reply

